BNHA Historic Designations

Content about Historic Designations

Federal, State, and Local Levels of Recognition and Protection

The architectural character of Baltimore is rich and unique, revealing the city’s vibrant past and its special role in telling the nation’s story. Many of Baltimore’s buildings and neighborhoods have been designated as historic to honor and protect connections to the city’s heritage. In Baltimore, designations are made at the federal, state, and local level. Each level of designation provides distinct benefits, but all work to help the city—its elected officials, agency staff, and citizens—ensure current and future generations understand Baltimore’s importance to the nation.

Federal-Level Designations

State-Level Designation

Local-Level Designations